Tuesday, August 7, 2012

A Brief History of Lupao-Nueva Ecija

         The derivation of the name of Lupao so far as known has never been fully explained except with the oft repeated myth that it originated from an itchy shrub called “lupa” which grew abundantly on the plains long before the Spaniards settled on the place.   

During the Spanish rule, the territorial jurisdiction of the province of Nueva Ecija, extended to as far south at Cabiao and the towns of San Quintin, Rosales, Balungao and Umingan in the north, which later formed part of the province of Pangasinan. Lupao was a component barrio of Umingan.  It remained so until 1871 when some residents led by a Senior Calderon petitioned the Governor General for the segregation of Lupao as a barrio of Umingan and the eventual creation of Lupao as “Tenencia Absoluta” and was headed by a Teniente Absoluto. On September 28, 1871, the Govierno Superior Civil de Filipinas decreed the creation of Lupao as Tenencia Absoluta. It signified the formal segregation as barrio and the eventual creation as “pueblo” of the province of Nueva Ecija. Under the Spanish rule, a pueblo is created through the Law of the Indies and represented a local government unit.  The pueblo was an agency of the Central Government.
            Salvacion was the first barrio of Lupao. Its initial territory also included Barrio Cabaritan now known as San Jose City. Barangay San Roque was known as “Odiao” and San Isidro as “Macañaoed”. Among the first leaders of the municipality during the twilight years of Spanish Rule were Benito Romualdo as “Capitan Municipal” and Celestino Jabalde as “Juez de Paz”.
            When the American forces defeated the Spaniards, towns were founded through General Order #43. On January 31, 1901, the Philippine Commission passed Act No. 82 that eventually installed Civil Government on different town in the Philippines, including Lupao. At this time, great change occurred in the economic and political landscapes of the communities.
            The Municipality of Lupao is situated at the northern tip of Nueva Ecija and about one hundred seventy five kilometers (175kms) from Manila, one hundred ten kilometers (110kms) from Baguio City and about sixty kilometers (60kms) from Cabanatuan City, the provincial capital.
            It is bounded in the North by Umingan, Pangasinan, on the South by San Jose City, on the West by Muñoz and on the East by Carranglan.
            Lupao, Nueva Ecija has a total land area of 17,378 hectares or equivalent to 173.78 sq. kms. It comprises twenty four (24) Barangays of which four (4) barangay are classified as Urban namely, Poblacion North, Poblacion South, Poblacion East and Poblacion West and the rest of the barangays are considered rural areas.

Mayors of Lupao
  1. Hon. Victoriano Joanino                                   1913                1916
  2. Hon. Felix Carpio        
  3. Hon. Sixto Baclig
  4. Hon. Tranquilino Saroca
  5. Hon. Pio Dacanay                                            1925                1927
  6. Hon. Juan Briones                                            1905                1927
  7. Hon. Pablo Del Rosario                                    1928                1931
  8. Hon. Jose Tecson                                             1931                1934
  9. Hon. Nemesio Cabiles                                      1932                           
  10. Hon. Marcelo Neri                                           1934                1937
  11. Hon. Luis Ancheta                                            1937                1940
  12. Hon. Emilio Buencamino                                   1942
  13. Hon. Guillermo Mabalot                                   1943
  14. Hon. Jovino Tienzo                                          1940-1943, 1944-1945, 1948-1951
  15. Hon. Pastor Domingo                                      1946                 1947
  16. Hon. Alfredo Briones                                       1952                1959
  17. Hon. Carlos Castañeda                                    1960                1963
  18. Hon. Rodrigo Mata                                          1964                1967
  19. Hon. Abelardo Borja                                        1967                1971
  20. Hon. Tiburcio Santillana                                    1972                1986
  21. Hon. Modesto Barcelona                                  1986                           
  22. Hon. George Castañeda                                   1987                1995
  23. Hon. Alfredo Vendivil                                       1995                2004
  24. Hon. Alexander Joanino                                    2004                2007
  25. Hon. Richard Ramos                                        2007                to present

Enhanced by Zemanta

No comments:

Post a Comment